Project Abstract

Project Description

Modeling Simulations

Experimental Testing

Publications

Presentations

Team Members

Education and Outreach

 

 
The TERI Team
  • PI
H. Ronald Riggs Home Page
H. Ronald Riggs (Department Chair)
Professor
Office: Holmes Hall 384
Phone: (808) 956-6566
E-mail: riggs@hawaii.edu
Structural eng. and fluid-structure interaction
  • Co-PI
Kwok Fai Cheung (Department Chair)
Professor
Office: Holmes Hall 402
Phone: (808) 956-3485
E-mail: cheung@hawaii.edu
Tsunami modeling
  • Co-PI
martinchock.com Gary Chock (President)
Martin & Chock, Inc.
1132 Bishop Suite 1550
Phone: (808) 521-4513
E-mail: structures@martinchock.com
Structural engineering design, code development
  • Co-PI
Si-Hwan Park Home Page
Si-Hwan Park
Assistant Professor
Office: Holmes Hall 342
Phone: (808) 956-4249
E-mail: sihwan@hawaii.edu
Computational mechanics, non-linear response
  • Co-PI
Geno Pawlak's Home Page Geno Pawlak
Assistant Professor
Office: Holmes Hall 402
Phone: (808) 956-8100
E-mail: pawlak@ore.hawaii.edu
Ocean engineering, hydromechanics
  • Co-PI
Ian Robertson's Home Page
Ian Robertson
Professor
Office: Holmes Hall 381
Phone: (808) 956-6536
E-mail: ianrob@hawaii.edu
Structural engineering design
  • Co-PI
Solomon Yim's Home Page Solomon Yim
Professor
Oregon State University
Phone: (541) 737-6894
E-mail: solomon.yim@orst.edu
Fluid structure interaction, wave tank modeling
  • Co-PI
Julie Young's Home Page Julie Young
Assistant Professor
Princeton University
Phone: (609) 258-5426
E-mail: yyoung@princeton.edu
scour and fluid transport
  • ITIC
http://ioc3.unesco.org/itic/ Laura Kong
Director
International Tsunami Information Center
Phone: (808) 532-6423
E-mail: Laura.Kong@noaa.gov
Tsunami effects on coastal communities
  • ITIC
http://ioc3.unesco.org/itic/ Brian Yanagi
Deputy Director
International Tsunami Information Center
Phone: (808) 532-6422
E-mail: brian.yanagi@noaa.gov
Disaster management, public awareness
  • SSRI
http://www.ssri.hawaii.edu/ Michael Hamnett
Director
Social Science Research Institute
Phone: (808) 988-8311
E-mail: hamnett@hawaii.edu
Public awareness and response to disasters
Advisory
Michael Briggs
Hydraulic Engineer
U.S. Army Engineer Research and Div.
Phone: (601) 643-2005
E-mail: michael.i.briggs@erdc.usace.army.mil
Coastal hydraulics engineering
Advisory
George Crawford
Earthquake Program Manager
Emergency Mangagement
Phone: (253) 512-7067
E-mail: g.crawford@emd.wa.gov
Disaster management- West Coast
Advisory
Richard Eisner
Regional Administrator
Coastal Region & CISN & Earthquake
Phone: (510) 286-0895
E-mail: Rich_Eisner@oes.ca.gov
Disaster management- West Coast
Advisory
John Hooper
Associate
Magnusson Klemencic Associates
Phone: (206) 292-1200
E-mail: jhooper@mka.com
Structural Engineer
Advisory
Dennis J. Hwang
Partner
Reinwald O'Connor & Playdon
Phone: (808) 544-8608
E-mail: djh@roplaw.com
Geophysics and Legal coastal management
Advisory
David Kennard
FEMA Region IX
Phone: (510) 627-7100
E-mail: David.Kennard@dhs.gov
Emergency Response and Preparedness
Advisory
Orville T. Magoon
Partner
Coastal Zone Foundation
Phone: (707) 987-2385
E-mail: omagoon@sbcglobal.net
Coastal Management
Advisory
Partha Sarkar
Professor
Iowa State University
Phone: (515) 294-0719
E-mail: ppsarkar@iastate.edu
Fluid Dynamics and Effect on Structures
Advisory
Edward Teixeira
Vice Director
Hawaii State Civil Defense
Phone: (808) 733-4300
E-mail: eteixeira@scd.hawaii.edu
Disaster Response and Planning
Advisory
Vasily Titov
Research Scientist
Pacific Marine Env. Lab. PMEL
Phone: (206) 526-4536
E-mail: vasilv.titov@noaa.gov
Tsunami Modeling
Advisory
Nassim Uddin
Assistant Professor
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Phone: (205) 934-8432
E-mail: nuddin@uab.edu
Coastal effects, dynamic loads on structures

The project team consists of eleven members. Ron Riggs, Ian Robertson and Si-Hwan Park are from the Civil and Environmental Engineering department at the University of Hawaii at Manoa. They bring expertise in structural engineering, fluid-structure interaction and computational mechanics. Fai Cheung and Geno Pawlak of the Ocean and Resources Engineering department at UH provide expertise in tsunami modeling, including coastal inundation, and ocean engineering and hydrodynamics. Julie Young at Princeton will perform computational and experimental research in scour and fluid transport, while Solomon Yim at Oregon State University has expertise in fluid-structure interaction and will assist with development of the tsunami wave tank experiments. Gary Chock is a practicing structural engineer in Honolulu, HI, with a background in code development and risk assessment for various hazards. Laura Kong and Brian Yanagi of the International Tsunami Information Center provide expertise in tsunami effects on coastal communities and public policy and awareness issues, while Mike Hamnett of the UH Social Sciences Research Institute has significant background in community response to various disasters.

In addition, we have assembled a ten member advisory panel to review and guide our work. Six members were selected for their technical expertise in areas relating to this project, so that they can provide peer review as the work progresses. The other four members represent emergency response and disaster management offices on the West Coast and Hawaii, and will provide a reality check as well as assist with dissemination and implementation of the results of this project.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

© 2006 | University of Hawai'i at Manoa | TERI (contact)

 

www.nees.org/ Team Members Home Project Page